Welcome to Jura

Michel Probst
Minister for Economy, Cooperation and Municipalities, President of the Government

It is a great honour for the Jura to welcome an event as prestigious as the 6th Mountain Cheese Olympics. On behalf of our cantonal authorities, I would like to extend a very warm welcome to all our guests to Saignelégier, Bellelay and Tramelan.

Jura is renowned for its horses and is also the cradle of Swiss watchmaking – it is a land of traditions but equally of creativity and technological innovation. This is the place where expertise, precision and quality have been cultivated for centuries, forging the reputation for high quality enjoyed by Swiss timepieces the world over. The region is also an emerging force in medical technology, in information technology, in communication and health and particularly in the fields of cardio-vascular prevention and rehabilitation. For tourists, we offer wellness and activity holidays – hiking and walking, biking, horse riding, snowshoeing or skiing to enjoy in the typical natural setting of the wooded pastures found in the Franches-Montagnes or on the banks of the Doubs river in the St Ursanne region.

The Jura believes in the value of local sustainability and actively promotes its many regional products – the Tête de Moine remains one of the jewels in the crown. It is a pleasure for the region to be able to welcome these famous Olympics in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

I hope your stay in the Franches-Montagnes will be as bright as it is memorable!

6th Mountain Cheese Olympics 2009
Mountain Cheese Olympics
22.-25.10.2009
Patronage
Swiss Confederation - Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Hosts
FROMARTE – the Swiss Cheese Specialists
Tête de Moine
Partners
Republic and Canton of Jura
Canton of Berne
Gold sponsors
coop

Willkommen im Jura

Michel Probst
Minister für Wirtschaft, Kooperation und Gemeinden, Regierungspräsident

Es ist dem Jura eine grosse Ehre, eine grossartige Veranstaltung wie die 6. Olympiade der Bergkäse ausrichten zu dürfen. Im Namen der kantonalen Behörden heisse ich Sie alle ganz herzlich in Saignelégier, Bellelay und Tramelan willkommen.

Der Jura ist das Land des Pferdes und die Wiege der Schweizer Uhr, ein Ort der Tradition, gleichzeitig aber auch ein Raum des schöpferischen Wirkens und der technologischen Innovation. Seit Jahrhunderten werden hier Know-how, Präzision und Qualität kultiviert, Werte, die weltweit den Spitzenruf der schweizerischen Uhrenindustrie begründet haben. Die Region macht aber auch mit ihren Medizintechniken, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien und im Gesundheitsbereich von sich reden, insbesondere im Bereich der Prävention und der kardiovaskulären Rehabilitation. Im Tourismus bietet sie alle Optionen für Wellness und Outdoor-Aktivitäten (Wandern, Radfahren, Reiten, Schneeschuhlaufen, Ski fahren usw.), sei es in der Naturlandschaft der charakteristischen Wytweiden der Freiberge oder am Ufer des Doubs in der Region von St-Ursanne.

Der Jura ist ein Landstrich voller Authentizität, der seine zahlreichen heimischen Produkte zur Geltung zu bringen weiss, darunter den Tête de Moine, eine seiner schönsten Schöpfungen. Dieser Spitzenkäse nun freut sich, dass seine Heimatregion heute in herzlicher und gastfreundlicher Atmosphäre zur bekannten Olympiade empfängt.

Möge Ihr Aufenthalt in den Freibergen für Sie zu einem unvergesslichen Glanzpunkt werden!

6. Olympiade der Bergkäse 2009
Olympiade
der Bergkäse
22.-25.10.2009
Patronat
Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft - Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
Veranstalter
FROMARTE – die Schweizer Käsespezialisten
Tête de Moine
Partner
Republik und Kanton Jura
Kanton Bern
Goldsponsor
coop