Welcome to Jura

Michel Probst
Minister for Economy, Cooperation and Municipalities, President of the Government

It is a great honour for the Jura to welcome an event as prestigious as the 6th Mountain Cheese Olympics. On behalf of our cantonal authorities, I would like to extend a very warm welcome to all our guests to Saignelégier, Bellelay and Tramelan.

Jura is renowned for its horses and is also the cradle of Swiss watchmaking – it is a land of traditions but equally of creativity and technological innovation. This is the place where expertise, precision and quality have been cultivated for centuries, forging the reputation for high quality enjoyed by Swiss timepieces the world over. The region is also an emerging force in medical technology, in information technology, in communication and health and particularly in the fields of cardio-vascular prevention and rehabilitation. For tourists, we offer wellness and activity holidays – hiking and walking, biking, horse riding, snowshoeing or skiing to enjoy in the typical natural setting of the wooded pastures found in the Franches-Montagnes or on the banks of the Doubs river in the St Ursanne region.

The Jura believes in the value of local sustainability and actively promotes its many regional products – the Tête de Moine remains one of the jewels in the crown. It is a pleasure for the region to be able to welcome these famous Olympics in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

I hope your stay in the Franches-Montagnes will be as bright as it is memorable!

6th Mountain Cheese Olympics 2009
Mountain Cheese Olympics
22.-25.10.2009
Patronage
Swiss Confederation - Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Hosts
FROMARTE – the Swiss Cheese Specialists
Tête de Moine
Partners
Republic and Canton of Jura
Canton of Berne
Gold sponsors
coop

Bienvenue dans le Jura

Michel Probst
Ministre de l’Economie, de la Coopération et des Communes, Président du Gouvernement

C’est un grand honneur pour le Jura d’accueillir une manifestation aussi prestigieuse que les 6e Olympiades des fromages de Montagne. Au nom des autorités cantonales, je souhaite à toutes et tous la plus cordiale bienvenue à Saignelégier, Bellelay et Tramelan.

Le Jura est le pays du cheval et le berceau de la montre suisse, une terre de tradition, mais aussi un espace de création et d’innovation technologique. C’est ici que se cultivent depuis des siècles le savoirfaire, la précision et la qualité qui ont forgé la réputation, dans le monde entier, de l’horlogerie suisse de haut de gamme. La région se profi le aussi dans les techniques médicales, les technologies de l’information et de la communication et la santé, en particulier la prévention et la réadaptation cardio-vasculaire. Quant au tourisme, il s’oriente vers toutes les activités de bien-être et de plein air (marche, vélo, cheval, raquettes à neige ou ski...), dans le cadre naturel typique des pâturages boisés des Franches-Montagnes ou au bord du Doubs dans la région de St-Ursanne.

Le Jura est aussi une terre d’authenticité qui met en valeur ses nombreux produits du terroir, dont la Tête de Moine demeure l’un des plus beaux fleurons. Il est heureux que sa région d’origine puisse accueillir aujourd’hui les fameuses Olympiades, dans une ambiance à la fois chaleureuse et conviviale.

Je souhaite que votre séjour dans les Franches-Montagnes soit des plus lumineux et des plus mémorables!

6e Olympiades des fromages de montagne 2009
Olympiades des fro-
mages de Montagne
22–25.10.2009
Patronage
Confédération suisse - Office fédéral de l'économie OFAG
Organisateurs
FROMARTE – artisans suisses du fromage
Tête de Moine
Partenaires
République et Canton du Jura
Canton de Berne
Sponsor or
coop