Without cheese, the Swiss mountains would be like Paris without the Eiffel Tower

Cantonal Councillor Andreas Rickenbacher
Director of Economic Affairs for the Canton of Bern

As the land of mountains and cheese, we are proud to be holding the sixth Mountain Cheese Olympics. The attractive host region of Saignelégier, Bellelay and Tramelan covers a geographical area that forms part of two cantons, Jura and Bern.

The Swiss mountain regions make up two thirds of the area of the country. Every fourth person lives in a mountain region and every fifth person works there. Agriculture and dairy farming play an especially important role. The Swiss mountains without cheese would be like Paris without the Eiffel Tower.

A third of the cheese is exported and the agricultural markets will continue to open up. The high-quality products from our farming sector are clearly different from cheaper mass-produced goods. Mountain and Alpine cheeses are predestined to be specialities with high added value, ensuring that this strategy of leading the way in quality is successfully implemented.

In «Tête de Moine», we have an excellent ambassador for the Jura. The joint organisation of the Mountain Cheese Olympics is clear evidence that cantonal borders are no obstacle to cooperation.

I wish all the participants in the Symposium an interesting and productive event and I have no doubt that visitors to the International Cheese Market will find it a great experience.

6th Mountain Cheese Olympics 2009
Mountain Cheese Olympics
22.-25.10.2009
Patronage
Swiss Confederation - Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
Hosts
FROMARTE – the Swiss Cheese Specialists
Tête de Moine
Partners
Republic and Canton of Jura
Canton of Berne
Gold sponsors
coop

Ohne Käse wäre das Schweizer Berggebiet wie Paris ohne Eiffelturm

Regierungsrat Andreas Rickenbacher
Volkswirtschaftsdirektor des Kantons Bern

Als Berg- und Käseland sind wir stolz, die sechste Olympiade der Bergkäse durchzuführen. Die attraktive Austragungsregion Saignelégier, Bellelay und Tramelan umfasst ein geografisches Gebiet, das zu den zwei Kantonen Jura und Bern gehört.

Die schweizerischen Berggebiete belegen zwei Drittel der Landesfläche. Jede vierte Person wohnt und jede Fünfte arbeitet in Bergregionen. In diesen spielt die Land- und Milchwirtschaft eine besonders wichtige Rolle. Das Schweizer Berggebiet ohne Käse wäre wie Paris ohne Eiffelturm.

Ein Drittel des Käses wird exportiert. Die Agrarmärkte werden sich weiter öffnen. Unsere Landwirtschaft kann sich durch hochwertige Produkte von preisgünstiger Massenware unterscheiden. Die Berg- und Alpkäse sind als wertschöpfungsstarke Spezialitäten prädestiniert, um diese Strategie der Qualitätsführerschaft erfolgreich umzusetzen.

Mit dem «Tête de Moine» haben wir einen hervorragenden Botschafter im Jurabogen. Die gemeinsame Organisation der Bergkäse-Olympiade zeugt davon, dass Kantonsgrenzen keine Schranken darstellen.

Ich wünsche der Fachtagung interessante, weiterführende Erkenntnisse sowie den Besucherinnen und Besuchern des Internationalen Käsemarkts ein tolles Erlebnis.

6. Olympiade der Bergkäse 2009
Olympiade
der Bergkäse
22.-25.10.2009
Patronat
Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft - Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
Veranstalter
FROMARTE – die Schweizer Käsespezialisten
Tête de Moine
Partner
Republik und Kanton Jura
Kanton Bern
Goldsponsor
coop